RSS Feed

Let’s hear it for Picard

Posted on

Netflix has finally added Star Trek: The Next Generation to watch instantly. I say finally not because I was waiting impatiently, but my husband was. So now I get to experience TNG with a true fan. It’s an interesting experience. Watching any show years after it premiered/concluded means that there is always the potential for already knowing spoilers. It’s a little bit different when your husband has to stop himself from spilling all of the shows secrets just because a Ferengi crossed across the screen. But it’s definitely a lot more fun to watch a show with someone who really loves it versus watching it alone. So far we’re about 20 episodes in (5 left in the First Season). I’ll admit it took a few episodes for me to get into it, but now it’s practically a must that we watch at least 1 episode a night.

I really wanted to write a post on TNG, but I had no idea where to go with it. I mean, there’s so much to cover in the first season alone. I really like the dichotomy of technology (they use tech all the time, yet in several episodes people misuse technology to their detriment or it’s technology that makes things to haywire). I also find the show’s episode structure pretty interesting. It’s very rare that we see an A and B plot; usually it’s just an A plot or the A plot has directly influenced a B plot. And of course they is tons to be said about individual characters. I especially like Data and Wes. But I think for this first post on TNG I’ll talk about the greatest character on the show – Jean-Luc Picard

Doesn't he just exude confidence?

You know that line in Weird Al Yankovic’s “White and Nerdy”

The only question I ever thought was hard/ was do I like Kirk or do I like Picard

I think I have my answer. While both Kirk and Picard both have a commanding presence and exude a definite “man in charge” attitude, I think there is one thing that sets Picard out as being a captain I would trust. Kirk was always part of the away team. When trouble was going down, he was right there on the front lines. That’s cool if you like your captains rough ‘n’ tumble, but I like that Picard knows he is the man in charge and needs to stay on the bridge looking over everything. That’s why he sends Riker to lead his away teams. Risking your life when you’re the captain is just foolish! You know, in my opinion.

And where Kirk was pretty much the man-whore of the galaxy, Picard doesn’t give his himself away easily (emotionally or physically). It makes him seem more stoic I suppose. And yes, I also like that Picard is more academic where Kirk was physical. I guess I value brains over brawn. Plus Patrick Stewart is pretty effing awesome!

But, really, I’m just one voice in many. And while I like the show, I’m not ready to call myself a Trekkie yet.

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

3 responses »

  1. theguybrarian

    Excellent, Trekkies will soon have a new recruit to swell our ranks! Mwah-ha–ha-HA! But seriously, glad you’re enjoying the show. It only gets better from here (good luck keeping me quiet, though).

    Reply
  2. Thats awesome that you’re enjoying the show. I’ve been a fan for as long as I can remember (and I agree, Picard IS the better captain).

    Also, I love the whole concept of your blog, especially because living without cable is what I do best. I grew up in a household that never had cable, and so even now I don’t have cable. Just don’t need it… sure, theres a lot of good stuff on those channels we don’t have, but you realize that you don’t need it, and get by just fine without it. To make up for it, I built a home theatre PC, use Windows Media Center as a DVR, and we have a Netflix account. I even heard that soon Xbox Live will be getting live TV streaming. But who knows what that will entail yet. Of course, the internet is on fire today with the news of Netflix’s incoming price increase.

    Now, if you’re starting to get into Star Trek… what do you think about Star Trek Online? 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks! I also grew up without cable, but that was back in the day when you could use an antenna to get ABC, NBC, CBS and whatever that channel was before fox (I just remember watching cartoons on it). When we moved out of state we had to get cable because there was no reception otherwise.

      As for Star Trek Online, I’m too absorbed by Rift at the moment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

