RSS Feed

Come on Irene

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hurricane Irene crawled it’s way up most of the Northeast over last weekend. It left my house without power Sunday and Monday. We were pretty lucky compared to a lot of other people in the state I live in. Some people are still without power even today. Some don’t have running water. I had to throw out a lot of food, but we were pretty smart about making sure we ate a lot of it before the storm hit. Also my mom didn’t lose power so we stored a lot of dairy products there until electricity was restored.


There’s been a lot of talk about how the lack of power will effect how people live their lives afterwards. Will they make changes now that they have lived without watching TV for hours on end after a long work day? Will kids go back outside and play after school instead of being plugged into the xbox? We were only without power for two days and while it was an inconvenience (I really wanted it back so that my refrigerator would get cold again) it was kind of nice cuddling on the couch watching what we could on my laptop until it died then reading by flashlight.

Pre-Irene, my husband and I would spend all night in our windowless theater style basement watching TV, hanging out on our respective computers, not really getting to cuddle because we have two recliners down there. So now we’ve made the decision to hang out upstairs in our living room more where the windows are open and we can cuddle on the couch. We even stopped the TV a bit earlier and went upstairs to read.

I’d like to add less computer time, but that one might be a big harder.

As much as a big hurricane like this sucks, the money the government has to pay to fix the damage is huge, people are inconvenienced left and right, and I didn’t even get a day out of work for it, it’s still worth stopping and thinking about that maybe the benefit is that some people will cut out a little bit of screen time in their lives and put back a little bit of human interaction.

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

Leave a Reply

