RSS Feed

Robbed

Steve Carell, you were robbed! It sucks, but Jim Parsons from the “Big Bang Theory” won for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series.

UGH! I do not understand the fascination with that show. I really don’t. I guess a lot of people can say the same thing for “The Office” and a lot of it comes down to personal preference, but out of the handful of episodes I’ve watched of BBT I just don’t get it. And I don’t understand why Jim Parsons deserves an Emmy. His character seems to never change.

You may think that Carell played Michael Scott over the top, but there were so many moments on “The Office” that were nuanced, soft, and really emotional. A lot of those moments were in this past season. Steve Carell really brought out a different side of Michael along with the zaney comedian that we love.

Robbed I say! Especially compared to the rest of the competition in the same category! Alec Baldwin! Louis C.K.!

I did mention how unbalanced the Emmys were this year when it came to “Modern Family” in an earlier post.  Both Ty Burrell and Julie Bowen won from that show. I think Julie was definitely my pick for her category, but maybe I would have gone with Eric Stonestreet in his. I just find him funnier. Anyway, I still think looking to award shows like the Emmys as some sort of benchmark might be a mistake. What do awards like these tell us anyway? That “Modern Family” is a great comedy and “Downton Abbey” is a worthwhile miniseries? Already known! What about the shows that aren’t nominated is that like saying they aren’t award worthy? That “Community” isn’t an outstanding comedy? Because I really disagree. It has far better writing than “30 Rock” especially when compared to last season.

I know I’m far from the first person to say this, and I won’t be the last. So, I’ll leave you with Jane Lynch’s funny opening from last night’s awards. It’s the only bit of the ceremony that I’ve watched. No cable means I don’t watch shows like this. I thought I would miss the awards show season, but once we cut the cord I found out that all I really cared about was finding out who the statues go to…and then giving in to my righteous anger about who inevitably was snubbed.

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

2 responses »

  1. Glee being nominated while Community got snubbed and the fact that Steve never won an Emmy for his portrayal of Michael Scott are enough reasons for me not to take the Emmys seriously.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

