RSS Feed

When one season ends…

Posted on

If you want to call me a Whovian go ahead. I’ll gladly accept the title. I’ve been a fan since around 2008 and I haven’t been able to get enough since. The problem is that since cutting cable it isn’t easy to stay current. For most shows I don’t mind, but this is definitely one of my favorite shows of all times I’m talking about here. It’s also incredibly hard to avoid spoilers. So I get around this by having my in-laws DVR it for me. I cram in about 3-4 eps at a time when I can.

This past weekend I watched the last three episodes of the season.

Wow. I’m a little speechless. I knew Steven Moffat would take the show in a different direction, but he’s taken it to a whole other level than it was at from the previous season. At least he’s keeping it fresh….and really, really spooky. That whole thing with the 80s/”The Shining” hotel was wicked creepy.

My mind is still kind of reeling and digesting the season. Splitting it up was kind of weird, and the way I watch it broken up even more makes it even harder to take it all in. I can’t wait to get the entire box set so that I can spend a whole week just reveling in all that is The Doctor. And yes, I do watch the “Doctor Who Confidential” bonus features. You should sign the petition to save that show!

But when one show ends, another one begins. My in-laws also DVR “Dexter” for my husband and I to watch. We caught up on the first two episodes. The first episode of the new season felt like a reboot and a nice reintroduction while the second felt like a second first episode of the season. Midway through the second episode I remarked how I already like this season better than the last. No more Rita no more Lumen. It’s back to Dexter being Dexter. The show feels like it’s gotten back to it’s core with the added bonus of a really great theme for Dexter to chew over. Oh and Deb is the new Lieutenant.

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

Leave a Reply

