RSS Feed

Looking for a good SciFi flick?

Posted on
I remember “The Adjustment Bureau” coming out. I just don’t remember much promotion for it. I don’t remember anyone saying anything noteworthy about it. No one recommended it to me. I don’t remember reading any blog posts about it. Part of the problem is that SciFi isn’t that hot right now. People are more attracted to Fantasy/Horror. The same is true across all mediums right now. As a Librarian I’m seeing the trend in books as well.And as a Librarian I really should remember to pimp my own profession a little bit now and then. I talk about Hulu and Netflix and Amazon all the time, but this weekend my husband brought home two great movies from his own library (it’s great having two Librarians from two different library systems in the house. We get great selection).

On Sunday (aka. the day when we’ve reached the end of all our required watching. The Hulu queue is empty and we’ve watched whatever has come in the mail from Netflix) we watched “The Adjustment Bureau” and “Blindness.” Both are SciFi and both will blow. your. mind.

“The Adjustment Bureau” is the most recent film and it stars Matt Damon and Emily Blunt plus that guy from Mad Men (no not that guy, that other guy. That less famous guy). It’s based on a Philip K. Dick short story. But unlike “Minority Report” or “Blade Runner” I really liked this movie. Also unlike those other films, it ended on and upbeat note. I won’t spoil it for you though. However, like “Minority Report” and “Blade Runner” there is a sense of urgency and danger. There’s also a lot of running. It’s to be expected. The cinematography is amazing. Seriously, kudos to the film editors. They did outstanding work. And I know there are a few world class actors in this movie, but Mat Damon sometimes gets on my nerves. This time he did a great job. The acting by everyone is really well done.Is everything just fate? Or do we make our own?

“Blindness” is from 2008 and my husband had seen it before and felt it was worth another viewing for him and worth introducing it to me. It stars Mark Ruffalo, Julianne Moore, and Danny Glover. The basic premise is a contagion spreads throughout a city causing “white blindness.” It’s sudden and it spreads quickly. The first infected people are put into quarantine. Mark Ruffalo plays an eye doctor and Julianne Moore is his wife who pretends to have the blindness in order to go into quarantine with him. She then ends up leading all of the blind people around; taking care of them and looking after them. This ends up being harder than it sounds. The situation disintegrates into a post-apocalyptic like scene with people acting accordingly. It gets grisly and uncomfortable to watch. It really makes you think about human nature.This movie has a lot of quiet moments coupled with brutality which in turn is coupled with introspection. Nothing like a good SciFi scenario to make you examine human nature, right?

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

One response »

  1. Nice post! Both excellent movies, see, I DO have good taste, it is simply tempered by terrible taste.

    And it is true, the Library definitely cannot be beat, since we (Librarians) will also buy your requests as well. Think about that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

