RSS Feed

Re-watching “Jericho”

I can’t say I had forgotten “Jericho” completely, but I was pleasantly surprised when my husband added it to our watch instantly queue on Netflix. I watched the series during it’s original airing in 2006. Like the other outraged fans, I was sad when it was cancelled and I applauded the pounds of peanuts sent to the study in protest. That resulted in a short second series that wrapped up a lot of the story lines.

Now I’m watching it again. It hit me that “Jericho” was really a show before it’s time (like a lot of shows that are cancelled early usually are). If it had been aired now in the days of post-apocalytic/dystopian worlds fiction rising in popularity, and “Walking Dead” having a huge following of the TV show and graphic novel I think it would have gone for longer. So far, in re-watching the first season, I can only say that 2 episodes haven’t kept my entire attention. Every other episode is exciting, has some sort of action, and character development.

Can you say the same for “Walking Dead”? It’s like WD wants to be like Jericho, but it’s missing an ingredient. “Jericho” may not have a heavy philosophy attached to it, but characters do explore personal and moral dilemmas which audience members can relate to.

Plus, nuclear inhalation is a lot more likely than zombies so there’s always a sense of “omg what would we do if this happened tomorrow?”

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

One response »

  1. I dunno which scenario is more plausible: Nuclear Annihilation or Zombies, but I suppose both would be THE WORST (a la Zombie Autopsies). Maybe bombs were detonated as a failed attempt to contain the zombie menace, but ended up ruining the planet for everyone? But yes, I think that Jericho did a better job with ACTION that the WD, although from the books that show should be POPPIN’ right about now. What the heck are they waiting for, Season 3? Get off the farm already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

