RSS Feed

Blizzard gets it right

Posted on

Hello. Yes, I’m still alive. Sorry about the silence. I’d say I was totally busy/not watching a lot of TV/whatever, but really I was just lazy. I blame the winter weather.

I’ve actually been watching a lot of TV lately; most of it on Hulu. Netflix will get more love when shows go on summer hiatus.

But now, recently, I’ve taken back up with World of Warcraft. It’s been slightly over a year since I last played. My husband and I stopped for a few reasons. Burn out was the number one factor for me. We also, at the time, planned on playing Rift (that lasted about a month…and then the WoW clone bored us).

Cataclysm was great. They tweaked a lot of things that made game play fly by. I thought the new game content was great as well. But for me, I always start to get overwhelmed with end-game stuff. I feel like I get pulled in so many directions. Work on rep? Run dungeons constantly to get better gear? Loremaster? AHHHH! I feel like I need to do it all. When I quit I was in the middle of grinding for rep in order to purchase another flying mount. Simultaneously I went back and was working on Argent Crusade dailies so that I could get rep there as well. Eventually it all felt like one big chore.

So what made me go back? Two things: Mists of Pandaria beta and Scroll of Resurrection. I feel like Blizzard got these two things right. First of all, Pandas! So cute! I’m super excited to play one, especially with a new class! So of course I want to be in on the beta. Luckily for me, they’re admitting anyone with an annual pass in. Promise to pay for game time for a year and you get into the beta. Simple and awesomely enticing. Also awesomely enticing is the Scroll of Resurrection. I get that this isn’t something everyone would want especially because one of the big draws is automatic leveling of a character to 80. I shot my Priest up from 52 to 80. I don’t think I’ll miss the leveling.

It’s pretty obvious that Blizzard is working hard to get players (or get players back). A few years ago they could rest on their laurels content that players will keep playing and bring new people with them. But their numbers have been dwindling. There was a huge drop-off after Cataclysm. Old school snobs elitists players didn’t like that the game made the grind easier. And I guess Cataclysm content wasn’t enough to hold people’s attention. Maybe now with Pandaria bringing us a whole new continent, a new race, a new class, and a new level cap people will come back and stay. Also check out all the new tweaks and changes!

Or everyone will keep playing Skyrim and SW:tor. For me, right now, I’m giving WoW another chance. I’ve made promises to myself that I won’t let myself get overwhelmed and I made my husband promise that he won’t let the game suck up all of his free time. We’ll see how it goes.

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

One response »

  1. I agree, Blizzard has been tweaking WoW since vanilla, and it is paying off for them. Although they may dip slightly in the number of players, staying steady above 10 million is still quite an accomplishment, considering that you can level to the cap so fast these days. And I loves me some Goblins!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

