Amazon Instant Video comes to PS3 – and it is AWESOME!

Posted on

My home TV and movie watching experience came even closer to being perfect yesterday (now if only HBO Go would allow people to pay to subscribe without having to have cable).

Amazon.com very quietly added their widget to the PS3 to keep Netflix and Hulu Plus company. It’s awesome because now I can supplement the shows I can’t get through Hulu and don’t want to wait until it’s available on Netflix by purchasing season passes for shows I can’t live without. I’ve actually been doing this ever since my husband and I bought an internet ready TV, but there were a couple drawback. The major one was that the Amazon Instant Videos were only watchable through a weird Yahoo! widget on a weird and random Yahoo! menu – separate from the rest of the Internet ready content Samsung provides. The second is an issue that was totally central to my house; our TV isn’t hooked up to the surround sound – the PS3, however, is. 

From the little that I played around with the new app it looks like the picture quality is improved, and for me the sound will definitely improve. 

I don’t always like what Amazon does (as a Librarian I have issues with the way they let Libraries lend their Kindle books), but this is really awesome. 

Again…now if only HBO would realize where a lot of their viewing base is….

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

2 responses »

  1. I would say that your husband is one lucky man to find a wife like you. My wife says she HATES TV, but I catch her watching on her phone now all the time. Since I work for DISH though, I have to support my industry, right: it’s all in the job. I have Amazon Prime and appreciate the convenience of streaming with my Blockbuter @Home subscription too, but I find that it is re-hashing what I already watched with my DISH subscription. What I really appreciate is the Blu-ray by mail, because in our theater only 1080p looks any good, and the 7.1 Surround Sound comes in handy too. Next on my list is a PS3 though, which it sounds like you get a lot of use out of. I currently rent games for my Xbox with the Blockbuster @Home.

    Reply
    • I remind him every day how lucky he is 😉

      As a Librarian I also like to stay up on what’s interesting people. Or at least that’s how I rationalize all of my TV watching. When I was younger and lived with my parents they also couldn’t understand why I loved it so much. Ah, well.

      I definitely recommend a PS3! There’s just so much content you can get with it with the added bonus of gaming! They last for a really long time. But a PS4 might be coming down the line soon in 2013 or 2014. Of course you can do a lot of the same with xbox. I’m sure Amazon will get their app on there soon.

      Reply

Leave a comment