RSS Feed

Take My Money, HBO!

Posted on

I swear, I think or write about something and suddenly it’s everywhere!

Take My Money, HBO is a new website where you can type in a dollar amount that you would be willing to pay per month for a standalone subscription service for HBO Go. You have to have a Twitter account for it to work.

The network has already responded saying, and I’m paraphrasing here, dream on suckahs! They say they would lose money this way.

Maybe, maybe not. You have to look at how many people would cancel their cable subscription and opt for HBO Go (which, presumably, would cost far less than the HBO bundle you get with cable) versus how many new people would pick up the Internet only option.

Me? I’d actually be willing to pay up to $20 a month for it. Quality programming with a great back catalog? That’s worth paying close to what we pay Netflix in our house.

Sadly, HBO just isn’t hip enough.

Speaking of hip enough, I keep tossing around the idea about creating a Twitter to coincide with my blog- mostly so I can post stuff I don’t really want to expound on but still want to share.

Also, I’m working on a post about Deanna Troi! 😮 exciting, I know!

About eadon216

As a Librarian I make it my goal to know as much as I can about all sorts of media. I consume more books, movies, TV, and music than is healthy for a normal person. Add in a good amount of MMORPG gaming and you have the perfect recipe for me. I enjoy doing all of this with my husband in our theater style basement

6 responses »

  1. From HBO prospective, you’ll need to pay like $50 or more for them to break even. The marketing VP said she decided to start HBO go just to retain existing customers.

    But we can always hope!

    Reply
  2. Great post. I’ve written a little on a similar subject. HBO has such great programming. All the pay channels have some good stuff in my opinion. But the commercials on cable are so idiotic, abrasive and over-the-top. Not to mention the regular programming they have there.

    I’ve cut the cord myself and rely mostly on netflix, redbox and wifi.

    Reply
    • I know! I can barely stand the 1 minute long commercials on Hulu. Of course they started out at 15 sec…went to 30…and now it feels like an actual commercial break.

      Reply
  3. I highly suggest the Twitter. I made a Twitter account just to take part in deals or giveaways only offered on Twitter… started following some of my favorite gaming authors and gamers in general, and now I have my own gaming blog that has received over 2,300 hits from over 50 countries, I’m in a gaming group and talk frequently with published sci-fi authors and legendary game developers, and one of my articles was read and passed along by one of my favorite games lead designer. And I started with 0 followers as I wanted to remain mostly anonymous from my main circle of friends (who aren’t really gamers)… so yeah, I HIGHLY suggest twitter.

    If you start it up, follow me at @BigMikeyOcho. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

